Showing posts with the label arunachal-pradesh

States of India: Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh        ARUNACHAL PRADESH India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories . The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions. India became a democratic country on 15th August 1947 , after its independence. All the decisions are made by the representatives chosen by the people under a set of fundamental rules called the “Constitution”. The Constitution is the supreme law of the country and was affirmed by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 . It came into action on 26 January 1950. The Preamble of the Indian Constitution guarantees it to be a Sovereign, Socialist, Secular and Democratic Republic with a parliamentary system of government. Currently, there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India. The States Reorganization Act, formed in 1956 was a prime force in reorganizing the margins of Indian states along semantic lines