States of India: Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh


India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions. India became a democratic country on 15th August 1947, after its independence. All the decisions are made by the representatives chosen by the people under a set of fundamental rules called the “Constitution”.

The Constitution is the supreme law of the country and was affirmed by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949. It came into action on 26 January 1950.

The Preamble of the Indian Constitution guarantees it to be a Sovereign, Socialist, Secular and Democratic Republic with a parliamentary system of government. Currently, there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India.

The States Reorganization Act, formed in 1956 was a prime force in reorganizing the margins of Indian states along semantic lines.

This page contains all important general knowledge points on Indian state, Arunachal Pradesh which will help in preparation of national and state level exams.

Arunachal Pradesh is an Indian state in Northeast India. It was formed from the erstwhile North-East Frontier Agency region, and became a state on 20 February 1987. It borders the states of Assam and Nagaland to the south.

  • Formed on -20th February, 1987.
  • Capital -Itanagar
  • Governor - B. D. Mishra

  • Chief minister -Pema Khandu
  • Population - 12.6 lakhs
  • High Court –Guwahati
  • State Animal -Mithun(Gayal)
  • State Bird -Great Hornbill
  • State Flower -Lady Slipper orchid
  • No: of Districts -21
  • Eastern most state in India.
  • The Indian state is known as the land of rising sun.
  • The Indian state having most number of regional languages.
  • The Indian state having lowest population density.
  • First Indian state to implement e-GPF (Electronic General Provident Fund).
  • The Indian state which is not publishing newspapers.
  • Largest north-eastern state in India.
  • Second Indian state having maximum forest areas.
  • Khamti is the only tribe in Arunachal Pradesh that has its own script.
  • Kangto is the highest point in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The state in India where most number of local languages are used.
  • The Orchid state of India.
  • Land of Dawn- lit mountains.
  • Paradise of the Botanists.
  • The river Brahmaputra enters to India through Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The Brahmaputra is known by the name ‘Dihang’ in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • British rule introduced in Arunachal Pradesh by Yandaboo treaty.
  • The old name of Arunachal Pradesh is NEFA (North East Frontier Agency).
  • Agricultural practice in Arunachal Pradesh is known as Jhum Cultivation(Jhuming).
  • Parshuram Kund is the famous Hindu pilgrimage in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Pakhhui Tiger Reserve is in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Zero Airport is in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Bomdila pass in Arunachal Pradesh is famous for tourism.
  • The state having large forest area among the north-eastern states.
  • Tawang Monastery is in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Tawang is the largest Buddhist centre in India.
  • Koro language is the finally identified language in India which is popular in Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Boori Boot, Losar, Mopin are the major festivals of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • The most commonly spoken language in Arunachal Pradesh are Monpa, Aa, Khanti, Nishi, Nocte, Wancho and Tagin.

UNESCO world heritage sites

  • Namdapha National Park
  • Apatani Cultural Landscape
  • Thembang Fortified Village

Impotant places in Arunachal Pradesh

  • Jawaharlal Nehru state Museum(Itanagar).
  • Himalayan University(Itanagar)
  • Itafort
  • Malinithan
  • Bhismaknagar
  • Nakshaprabhat
  • Vijayanagar
  • Golden Pagoda Temple

National Parks

  • Namdapha
  • Mouling

Wildlife Sanctuaries

  • Pakhui Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Eaglenest Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Kane Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Dr.Ering Memorial Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Mehao Wildlife Sanctuary.
  • Dihang-Debang Biosphere Reserve.
  • Kamlang Wildlife Sanctuary

Pakhui Wildlife Sanctuary or Pakke Tiger Reserve

Pakhui Wildlife Sanctuary lies in the foothills of the Eastern Himalaya bounded by Bhareli or Kameng River in the west and northand by Pakke River in the east.

It was declared a sanctuary in 1977 and declared as a tiger reserve in 2002.

The habitat types are lowland semi-evergreen, evergreen forest and Eastern Himalayan broadleaf forests.

Reserve has won India Biodiversity Award 2016 in the category of ‘Conservation of threatened species’ for its Hornbill Nest Adoption Programme.




Popular posts from this blog

Which was the last Buddhist text produced in India?

GK Questions on Third Battle of Panipat

GK Questions: Nalanda University

States of India:Bihar(Land of Vihars)

Previous year ssc Indian History:Dynasties of Ancient India-Part5