Identify the Buddhist literature from the following?

Previous Year Paper GK Questions and Answers:Tripatakas

    Buddhism-Jainism-Question 5

Daily Online General Knowledge Quiz:Previous year paper gk questions with answers in English.5.Identify the Buddhist literature from the following?
  A. Tripitakas

Daily Online General Knowledge Quiz:Previous year paper gk questions with answers and explanation in English on Buddhism and Jainism.

❓5.Identify the Buddhist literature from the following
  A. Tripitakas
  B. Angas
  C.  Aranyakas
  D. Upanishads


Note: A Tripataka, traditionally contains three 'baskets' of teachings: a Sutta Pitaka, a Vinaya Pitaka, and an Abhidhamma Pitaka. Tripataka is the three main categories of texts that make up the Buddhist canon.

canon:-a collection or list of sacred books accepted as genuine.

🔑Key Points

  • The Tripitaka is the traditional term for the Buddhist scriptures. The version canonical to Theravada Buddhism is generally referred to in English as the Pali Canon.
  • Mahayana Buddhism also holds the Tripitaka to be authoritative but, unlike Theravadins, it also includes in its canon various derivative literature and commentaries that were composed much later.
  • During his lifetime the Buddha taught not in Vedic Sanskrit, which had become unintelligible to the people, but in his own Indian dialect.
  • He also encouraged his monks to spread his teachings in the vernacular so that it could understand by the ordinary people. 
  • Buddha’s teaching was oral.
  • After Buddha’s death, the Buddhist canon was formulated and transmitted by oral tradition, and it was written down in several versions in the 2d and 1st cent. B.C. Its main divisions are called Pitakas.

Tripitaka, also known as Pali Canon in English, is a traditional term used for Buddhist scriptures. The three pitakas are:

  • Sutta Pitaka
  • Abhidhamma Pitaka
  • Vinaya Pitaka

Sutta Pitaka

The Sutta Pitaka consists of the main teaching or Shamma of Buddha.

It has around 10 thousand sutras related to Buddha and his close associates.

It also deals with the first Buddhist council, held shortly after Buddha’s death.

Sutta Pitaka is divided into five Nikayas or collections:

Anguttara Nikaya which comprises the numerical.

Digha Nikaya, which comprises the long discourses.

Khuddaka Nikaya which comprises the minor collection.

Majjhima Nikaya, which comprises the middle length.

Samyutta Nikaya, which comprises the connected discourses of Buddha.

Vinaya Pitaka

  • Vinaya Pitaka also known as book of discipline. It consists rules of conduct and discipline applicable to the monastic community(or Sangha, a monastic group of monks and nuns).
  • It is further divided into three books namely Suttavibhanga, Khandhaka and Parivara.


  • The Abhidharma is the third pitaka, or "basket," and is said to have been added during the Third Buddhist Council, ca. 250 BCE.
  • Abhidhamma Pitaka is a philosophical analysis and systematization of the teaching and the scholarly activity of the monks.
  • It comprises the philosophy and doctrine of Buddhism.
  • It is divided into seven books namely Dhammasangani, Dhatukatha, Kathavatthu, Patthana, Puggalapannatui, Vibhanga and Yamaka.
  • It probably was composed at least a century after Buddha’s death by an unknown author.


*This Question is a part of previous year paper gk questions on .




Popular posts from this blog

GK Questions on Third Battle of Panipat

Which was the last Buddhist text produced in India?

States of India:Bihar(Land of Vihars)

GK Questions: Nalanda University

States of India:Assam