In early vedic period varna system was based on?

Previous Year Paper GK Questions and Answers-varna system


Previous year ssc questions  | cgl previous year question |multiple choice | previous year question papers |competitive exam |questions and answers |

    Pre-Historic Period-Question 9

Daily Online General Knowledge Quiz:Previous year paper gk questions with answers in English.9.In early vedic period varna system was based on?A. Education B. bir

Daily Online General Knowledge Quiz:Previous year paper gk questions with answers and explanation in English on Indian History of Pre-Historic Period.

Q9.In the early vedic period, varna system was based on?
A. Education
B. birth
C. Occupation
D. talent


Note: According to the Purushasukta , the vedic society was divided into four varna as Brahman, Kshatriya, Vaishyas, and Shudras. This classification of society was based on the professions or occupations of the individuals.

Teachers and priests were called Brahmans,rulers and administrators were called Kshatriyas. Farmers, merchants, and bankers were called vaishyas and artisans and labours were called shudras.

🔑Key Points

✔Rig Veda (c. 1500–1200 BCE) was composed during the Early Vedic Age. The other three the Yajurveda, the Samaveda and the Atharvaveda. (c. 1200–900 BCE )were written in the Later Vedic Age.

Rig Veda – this is the oldest religious text in the world. It contains 1028 hymns and is classified into 10 mandalas.

In the Dharma-shastras, society is divided into four varnas: Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, and Shudras.

Those who are excluded from the varna system due to serious offences are labelled as outcasts or untouchables and are considered outside the varna system.

BrahminVarṇa : vedic scholars and vedic priests and vedic teachers.

Kshatriya Varṇa : rulers of land and warriors of land and administrators of land.

Vaisya Varṇa : agriculturist of settlers or destroyers of soil and merchant of harvest.

Shudras Varṇa: tribes of communities and tribes of servants and tribes of labourers.

Communities which belong to one of the four varnas or classes are called savarna. Those who do not belong to any varna were called avarna.


*This Question is a part of previous year paper gk questions on .


2.NCERT Text Books

More Questions on Pre-Historic Period of India


Popular posts from this blog

GK Questions on Third Battle of Panipat

Which was the last Buddhist text produced in India?

States of India:Bihar(Land of Vihars)

GK Questions: Nalanda University

States of India:Assam